UC Riverside Academic Senate

Distinguished Campus Service

2015–2016 Distinguished Campus Service Award:

Akula Venkatram

Akula Venkatram

Akula Venkatram
Mechanical Engineering

The Committee is pleased to nominate Professor Akula Venkatram from the Department of Mechanical Engineering as a recipient of the Distinguished Campus Service Award for the academic year 2015-2016. Professor Venkatram is one of the founding members of the Bourns College of Engineering and was the founding chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering when it was still being developed. At a University level he has served on the Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Committee during 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2010-2011, 2012-2013, and 2013-2015 as the Undergraduate Advisor/Chair. At the college level he has served as the Chair of the College Executive Committee since 2013. Professor Venkatram’s campus service includes being a member of the Senate Committee on Research (2008-2009); member of Committee on Planning and Budget (2009-2011); a member of the UCR Budget Advisory Committee in 2009; a member of the Senate Committee on Preparatory Education (2013-2015) and a member of Executive Council (2013-2016). He was also on the search committee for the Vice Chancellor for Planning and Budget. Professor Venkatram also played a key role in the elaboration of the ABET self-study document that led to the six-year accreditation of the Mechanical Engineering undergraduate program in 2012 with outstanding reviews from the external review committee. Additionally, Professor Venkatram has taught the widest range of courses in his curricula and with outstanding effectiveness.

Linda Walling

Linda L. Walling

Linda L. Walling
Botany and Plant Sciences

The Committee is pleased to nominate Professor Linda Walling from the Department of Botany and Plant Sciences as a recipient of the Distinguished Campus Service Award for the Academic year 2015-2016. Professor Walling has served on several Academic Senate committees, but most notably she served on the Committee on Academic Personnel (CAP) as a member (2012-13), Vice Chair (2013-14), and Chair (2014-15). At the University level she served as a member of Advisory Committees on Institutes and Centers (2004-2010), and Intellectual Property and Development (2004-10). At the college level, Professor Walling has served on 9 college committees prior to her appointment to the leadership team in CNAS. Serving under 3 different CNAS deans, she was Associate Dean for Biological Sciences (2003-04), Associate Dean (2004-07) and Divisional Dean for Life Sciences (2007-09). During this time, she spent exceptional effort leading numerous initiatives for changes in biological sciences teaching, college reorganization, assessment of college’s space and current and future research and teaching needs, several CNAS building projects, and the internal and external review of the life sciences undergrad majors (2003-09). At the departmental level, she served as a member of numerous strategic committees, including planning committees, the A&PS Review Committee and Faculty Search Committees. Furthermore, she was on numerous committees on graduate and undergraduate education including serving as Graduate Advisor for the Plant Biology Graduate Program (2010-15) and Chair of the Educational Advisory Committee (2010-15).

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Department Information

Academic Senate Office
900 University Avenue
231 University Office Bldg
Riverside, CA 92521

Tel: (951) 827-5538
Fax: (951) 827-5545