UC Riverside Academic Senate

Academic Senate Bylaws

« Back to Table of Contents

(Read full College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences Bylaws)

N4 Committees

N4.1 There is an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair of the Faculty, ex officio; the Dean of the college, ex officio; the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Advising (or equivalent title), ex officio; thirteen members of the Faculty as provided in N4.1.1.; and student representatives as provided in N4.1.1.4. Student representatives and all other Associate and Divisional Deans of CNAS are advisory (nonvoting) members. An elected member of the executive committee is not eligible for immediate reelection unless he/she has completed a term of fewer than 18 months. Eligibility is reestablished after one year of non-service, with the following exception; if the member is elected to the position of chair of the faculty, the member may also be reelected to the executive committee. The Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary-Parliamentarian of the faculty occupy corresponding offices in the Executive Committee. (Am 3 Feb 83)(Am 27 May 93)(Am 18 Nov 03)(Am 30 May 06)(Am 30 Nov.10)

N4.1.1 The elected membership of the committee shall include one member elected from each of the following departments: Biochemistry, Biology, Botany and Plant Sciences, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Entomology, Mathematics, Nematology, Cell Biology and Neuroscience, Physics, Plant Pathology, Environmental Sciences, and Statistics. The first order of business of the Executive Committee after the biennial election of the Chair of the Faculty will be to determine whether the representation formula needs change and to recommend appropriately to the faculty. (Am 3 Feb 83)(27 May 93)(Am 30 May 06)(Am 30 Nov.10)

N4.1.1.1 The term of office of the Chair of the Faculty is two years, elected in even years. The term of office of members of the Executive Committee is three years. The five members of the Executive Committee from the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Nematology, Cell Biology and Neuroscience and Environmental Sciences are elected in the same year; the four members of the Executive Committee from the departments of Earth Sciences, Physics, Plant Pathology and Statistics are elected in the same year; the four members of the Executive Committee from the departments of Biochemistry, Botany and Plant Sciences, Entomology, and Mathematics are elected in the same year. (Am 3 Feb 83)(Am 27 May 93)(Am 30 May 06)(Am 20 Nov 07)(Am 30 Nov.10)

N4.1.1.2 The election is held by mail ballot as provided in chapter 7 of the bylaws of the Division. For purposes of these elections, members of the Executive Committee are considered Officers of the Faculty of the College. Members of the Executive Committee take office on the first day of September following their election at a regular election or immediately upon completion of the ballot count at a special election.

N4.1.1.3 Whenever the Executive Committee determines that a vacancy exists in its membership, the Secretary-Parliamentarian of the Division conducts an election in accordance with the procedure prescribed within these bylaws provided the vacancy is to last more than seven months. A vacancy will be declared to exist and a committee member considered to have resigned if he/she anticipates an absence from the committee of more than seven months. Vacancies of seven months or less are filled temporarily by appointment by the Chair of the Faculty with the advice and consent of the Executive Committee.

N4.1.1.4 At the beginning of each academic year, the Executive Committee will request that the Legislative Council of the Associated Students select two student representatives to the Executive Committee. Each of these student representatives must be majoring in a department or program within the college. (Am 30 May 06)

N4.1.2 The Executive Committee has the following functions:

N4.1.2.1 The Executive Committee has general oversight of the academic welfare and discipline of students in the college and has the power to bring before the Faculty any matters that the committee deems advisable.

N4.1.2.2 The Executive Committee appoints all other standing committees and all special committees of the Faculty unless otherwise directed at a meeting of the faculty.

N4.1.2.3 The Executive Committee acts finally for the Faculty (a) in the awarding of all degrees to students of the college and (b) in the awarding of honors at graduation. The committee is likewise empowered to act on petitions of students for graduation under suspension of the regulations. The committee will report all degrees approved to the Division.

N4.1.2.4 The Executive Committee acts for the Faculty in the establishment, modification, and discontinuation of majors and minors within the college.

N4.1.2.5 The Executive Committee acts for the Faculty in making recommendations to the Division regarding courses.

N4.1.2.6 The Executive Committee reviews and makes recommendations to the Dean of the college on proposals for the establishment of new departments or modifications of existing departments and reviews the status of all interdisciplinary programs.

N4.1.2.7 The Executive Committee establishes and maintains liaison with the Executive Committees of the other colleges and schools in the Division.

N4.1.2.8 The Executive Committee assists the Dean on his request in matters relating to the administration of the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences.

N4.2 There is a standing Library Committee consisting of all the Departmental Liaison Officers (to the Library) which are chosen by the department, the University Librarian, ex officio, and the head of the Science Library, ex officio. The duty of this committee is to advise on the collection and services of the Science Library. The Executive Committee will appoint a Chair of the college committee who will call and oversee all meetings. The Chair must call a meeting, if requested, by (1) the Executive Committee of the College; (2) any member of the committee; (3) the University Librarian or (4) the Head Librarian of the Science Library. (Am 31 May 79) (Am 29 Nov. 2011)

N4.3 There is a standing committee on Honors and Scholarships consisting of no fewer than three members of the Faculty. Each academic year, the Executive Committee will appoint the chair of this committee, who will then appoint two (or more) additional members to serve for the duration of that year. The duties of the committee are the judging of the awarding of honors at graduation, and the evaluation of all applications for fellowships and scholarships that are judged and/or awarded through the College. (Am 27 May 93) (Am 29 Nov. 2011)

N4.4 (Deleted 27 May 93)

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Department Information

Academic Senate Office
900 University Avenue
231 University Office Bldg
Riverside, CA 92521

Tel: (951) 827-5538
Fax: (951) 827-5545