Chair. The Chair of the Division is elected for a two-year term. In case the Chair is unable to complete the term of office, the Vice Chair shall become Chair pro tempore. The Chair pro tempore shall serve out the unexpired term, unless that term is longer than three months. If it is longer, the Secretary-Parliamentarian shall conduct an election for the unexpired term so that the Chair pro tempore serves no longer than three months. The result of this election shall be reported to the members of the Division as soon as it is known. (Am 22 Oct 73) (Am 24 May 2005)
No one shall serve as Chair of the Division for more than two consecutive terms, but shall become eligible to serve again after lapse of two years following expiration of the second consecutive term. (Am 24 May 2005)
The Chair of the Division presides over the meetings of the Division. The Chair is ex officio a member of the Assembly of the Academic Senate and is a member of the Academic Council of the Assembly. (Am 24 May 2005)
The Chair is responsible for coordinating the work of all standing and special committees of the Division. Except when a Divisional committee or subcommittee is considering matters not to be reported directly to the Division, the Chair may attend the meetings of any such committee or subcommittee and may participate in its deliberations without vote unless he or she is a member of such committee. The Chair may present in person or in writing any matters he or she believes should be brought before a committee and call to its attention materials that may be useful to it. (Am 24 May 2005)
The Chair shall determine initially whether any action considered by the Division is solely of Divisional concern. Such decisions may be appealed to the Division. (Am 24 May 2005)
The Chair submits annually a budget request for the work of the Division, its committees, and the Executive Office of the Division; supervises the expenditure of appropriations that may be made; and reports annually to the Division on the work of the Executive Office together with any proposals for improvement of its operation which require action by the Division. (Am 24 May 2005)
The Chair exercises general supervision of the Executive Office. (Am 24 May 2005)
Unless otherwise specified in these Bylaws or in enabling acts, the Division's Chair shall be chosen from other than the President of the University, the Chancellor at Riverside, the University Librarian, the Registrar, any Vice Chancellor, Associate Chancellor, Associate or Assistant Vice Chancellor, any Dean, Associate or Assistant Dean, any Provost, any department chair or a program director of an ORU or MRU. (En 22 May 2007)
In the absence of both the Chair and Vice Chair, the succession order among Division Officers shall be: Secretary/Parliamentarian, then longer serving Assembly Representative, then second Assembly Representative.(AM 20 March 2020)