May 29, 2018 Division Meeting

University of California Academic Senate
Regular Meeting of the Riverside Division

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Genomics Auditorium 1102A
1:10 PM

Printable Division Agenda


  1. Regular Meeting of February 27, 2018
  2. Announcements by the President
    • President Janet Napolitano is unable to attend
  3. Announcements by the Chancellor at Riverside
      Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox will address the Division and present the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement to faculty recipients:
    1. Teaching Professor Jack Eichler, Chemistry
    2. Teaching Professor Kawai Tam, Chemical & Environmental Engineering
  4. Announcements by Vice Chancellors
    • None
  5. Announcements by the Deans or other Executive Officers
    1. Secretary-Parliamentarian: Election Results
  6. Announcements by the Chair
  7. Special Orders
    1. Consent Calendar*
      1. Approval of Curricula Changes
        1. BCOE - Chemical Engineering Major
        2. BCOE - Computer Engineering Major
        3. BCOE - Computer Science Major
        4. BCOE - Electrical Engineering Major
        5. BCOE - Mechanical Engineering Major
        6. CHASS - Anthropology Minor
        7. CHASS - Business Economics Major
        8. CHASS - Economics / Administrative Studies Major
        9. CHASS - Economics / Law and Society Major
        10. CHASS - Economics Major
        11. CHASS - Economics Minor
        12. CHASS - Languages and Literatures/French Major
        13. CHASS - Languages and Literatures/French Minor
        14. CHASS - Languages and Literatures/Russian Studies Major
        15. CHASS - Languages and Literatures/Chinese Minor
        16. CHASS - Political Science / Administrative Studies Major
        17. CHASS - Political Science / International Affairs Major
        18. CHASS - Political Science Major
        19. CHASS - Political Science / Public Service Major
        20. CHASS - B.A. in Psychology Major
        21. CHASS - B.S. in Psychology Minor
        22. CHASS - Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Minor
        23. CNAS - B.A. in Chemistry Major
        24. CNAS - B.S. in Chemistry Major
        25. CNAS - Chemistry Major Requirements
        26. CNAS - Chemistry Minor
        27. CNAS - Chemistry Sample Program
        28. CNAS - Cell, Molecular, and Developmental Biology Major
        29. CNAS - Earth Sciences Major
        30. CNAS - Entomology Major
        31. CNAS - Entomology Minor
        32. CNAS - Physics Major
        33. CNAS - Statistics Major
        34. CNAS - Statistics Minor
        35. GSOE - Education, Society, and Human Development Major
        36. SOBA - Business Administration Major
        37. SOBA - Business Administration Minor
    2. Degree reports, received and placed on file**
    3. Regular Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties, received and placed on file
      1. Committee on Courses - Course approvals
      2. Committee on Courses - Instructor approvals
      3. Committee on Courses - Courses not offered for four or more years
      4. Executive Council - Campus Naming Committee -
        1. The surge building to be named Skye Hall and the University Laboratory Building to be named Rochelle and Allison Campbell Laboratory Building
      5. Committee on University Extension - Course/Instructor approvals
  8. Report of the Representative to the Assembly
    1. Assembly Meeting, February 14, 2018
    2. Assembly Meeting, April 11, 2018
  9. Report of Special Committees
    1. None
  10. Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties
    1. Committee on Distinguished Campus Service - recipient of the 2017-2018 Distinguished Campus Service Award - Professor Kenneth Barish, Physics and Astronomy
    2. Committee on Distinguished Teaching - recipient of the 2017-2018 Distinguished Teaching Award - Associate Professor Farah Godrej, Political Science
    3. Graduate Council - recipient of the 2017-2018 Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award - Associate Professor Stephen Hong Sohn, English
    4. Faculty Research Lecturer Committee - recipient of the 2018-2019 Faculty Research Lecturer Award - Distinguished Professor Aman Ullah, Economics
    5. Committee on Academic Freedom - UCR Scholars at Risk Sponsorship Program 2019-2022
    6. Committee on Courses - proposed changes to General Rules and Policies Governing Courses of Instruction
    7. Committee on Graduate Council - proposed changes to GR1.6 Professional Development Requirement for Graduate Students
    8. Executive Committee of the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences - proposal for an interdepartmental program of graduate studies in Biophysics for the M.S. and Ph.D. Degrees
    9. Executive Committee of the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences - proposal for a joint Entomology BS / Entomology MS Five-Year Combined Degree Program
    10. Executive Committee of the School of Business Administration - proposal for a self-supporting Master of Supply Chain & Logistics Management
  11. Petitions of Students
    1. None
  12. Unfinished Business
    1. None
  13. University and Faculty Welfare
    1. Beyond 'Diversity:' Equity, Movement, and Transformation Discussion
  14. New Business
    1. None
  15. May 21, 2018

    S. See, Secretary-Parliamentarian
    Riverside Division of the Academic Senate

    *Approval of all items on the Consent Calendar requires a single unanimous vote called for as the first order of business under Special Orders. At the request of any member of the Division, any such item must be withdrawn and considered in its regular order on the agenda [bylaw 4.1.2].

    **Reports received and placed on file "are received as presented and require no further action" [bylaw 4.1.3]. Only the reporting committee can change or withdraw these reports; however, at the request of any member of the Division, a report will be moved into its regular order on the agenda (Item 10. Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties) where it may be discussed, and motions relating to the report may be offered.