May 21, 2019 Division Meeting

University of California Academic Senate
Regular Meeting of the Riverside Division

Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Genomics Auditorium 1102A
1:10 PM

Printable Division Agenda


  1. Regular Meeting for February 26, 2019
  2. Announcements by the President
    • President Janet Napolitano is unable to attend
  3. Announcements by the Chancellor at Riverside
      Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox will address the Division and present the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement to faculty recipients:
    1. Professor Wenwan Zhong, Chemistry
  4. Announcements by Vice Chancellors
    • Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Cindy Larive will address the Division
  5. Announcements by the Deans or other Executive Officers
    1. Secretary-Parliamentarian: Election Results
  6. Announcements by the Chair
  7. Special Orders
    1. Consent Calendar*
      1. Approval of Curricula Changes
        1. BCOE - Chemical Engineering Major
        2. BCOE - Computer Science Major
        3. BCOE - Computer Science Minor
        4. BCOE - Computer Science w/Business Applications Major
        5. BCOE - Electrical and Computer Engineering
        6. BCOE - Material Science and Engineering Major
        7. BCOE - Mechanical Engineering Major
        8. BUS - Administrative Studies Majors
        9. BUS - Business Administration Major
        10. BUS - Business Administration Minor
        11. CHASS - Administrative Studies Majors
        12. CHASS - Anthropology Minor
        13. CHASS - Art Major
        14. CHASS - Business Economics Major
        15. CHASS - Economics/Administrative Studies Major
        16. CHASS - Economics Major
        17. CHASS - Economics Minor
        18. CHASS - Economics Change of Major Criteria
        19. CHASS - Economics Law & Society Major
        20. CHASS - English Major
        21. CHASS - History Major
        22. CHASS - History Minor
        23. CHASS - International Relations Minor
        24. CHASS - Political Science Major
        25. CHASS - Political Science Minor
        26. CHASS - Political Science/Administrative Studies Major
        27. CHASS - Political Science/International Affairs Major
        28. CHASS - Political Science/Public Service Major
        29. GSOE - Education Minor
        30. GSOE - Education, Society, and Human Development Major
    2. Degree reports, received and placed on file**
    3. Regular Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties, received and placed on file
      1. Committee on Courses - Course approvals
      2. Committee on Courses - Instructor approvals
      3. Committee on Courses - Courses not offered for four or more years
      4. Executive Council - Campus Naming Committee -
        1. The Multidisciplinary Research Building to be named Collaboration Space in Memory of Ron and Jeanne Sladek
      5. Committee on University Extension - Course/Instructor approvals
  8. Report of the Representative to the Assembly
    1. Assembly Meeting, April 10, 2019
  9. Report of Special Committees
    1. None
  10. Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties
    1. Committee on Distinguished Campus Service - recipients of the 2018-2019 Distinguished Campus Service Award
      - Distinguished Professor Georgia Warnke, Political Science
      - Distinguished Professor Ashok Mulchandani, Chemical and Environmental Engineering
    2. Committee on Distinguished Teaching - recipient of the 2018-2019 Distinguished Teaching Award
      - Associate Professor Thomas Sy, Psychology
    3. Graduate Council - recipient of the 2018-2019 Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award
      - Professor Amit Roy-Chowdhury, Electrical and Computer Engineering
    4. Faculty Research Lecturer Committee - recipient of the 2019-2020 Faculty Research Lecturer Award
      - Distinguished Professor Bir Bhanu, Electrical and Computer Engineering
    5. UC San Francisco Academic Senate Memorial to the Regents - Fossil Fuel Divestment
      (Each Division may vote to approve, to disapprove, or to decline to act, but may not amend the proposal as submitted).
    6. Committee on Graduate Council - proposed changes to GR1.2 Standards of Scholarship and Disqualification
    7. Executive Committee of the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences - proposal for a Medical and Health Humanities Minor
    8. Executive Committee of the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences - proposed change to Specify Cooperative Extension Specialist as Eligible to Attend Meetings of the CNAS faculty
  11. Petitions of Students
    1. None
  12. Unfinished Business
    1. None
  13. University and Faculty Welfare
    1. UCR and the "Research Mission:" The Future of Ph.D. Training and Faculty Scholarship on Our Campus
  14. New Business
    1. None
  15. May 13, 2019

    K. Esterling, Secretary-Parliamentarian
    Riverside Division of the Academic Senate

    *Approval of all items on the Consent Calendar requires a single unanimous vote called for as the first order of business under Special Orders. At the request of any member of the Division, any such item must be withdrawn and considered in its regular order on the agenda [bylaw 4.1.2].

    **Reports received and placed on file "are received as presented and require no further action" [bylaw 4.1.3]. Only the reporting committee can change or withdraw these reports; however, at the request of any member of the Division, a report will be moved into its regular order on the agenda (Item 10. Reports of Standing Committees and Faculties) where it may be discussed, and motions relating to the report may be offered.